top of page
Search
  • USN Diet Fuel

Why USN Diet Fuel is the Best Meal Replacement Shake in the UK

Updated: Oct 3, 2020



Hi, guys today I'm going to be reviewing a product called USN Diet Fuel which I use for about fourteen days. Earlier this year it's a bit of an odd-sounding name.  But it's short for human fuel and it's described as nutritionally complete human food and essentially it's like a meal replacement shake powder that you add water to. But you could completely replace your food with this product.

Now the reason I started using this was I liked the idea of a meal replacement product that I could use to replace a few meals during the day. So the way that I use this was I had a normal breakfast in the morning. I then replace two of my meals during the day at work with this. I then ate something again after my workout and I had dinner again in the evening. So in terms of positives of using USN Diet Fuel.

The first thing to talk about is probably nutrition. It's a 100% complete and has really balanced macros. So for each serving that I had, I was taking them about 37 grams of protein, 46 grams of carbs and about 16 grams of fat. Now, all that protein was actually coming from plant-based sources as well. So there are no animal products in there. So it's cruelty-free. It's completely vegan.

Now because it's vegan, it's also really sustainable as well which it means it's really good for the environment. I think the biggest bonus for me was the time-saving. I was no longer spending lots of time preparing meals and evening doing lots of shops. I was washing up and even spending time eating meals. I was literally having two shakes a day each. One maybe took maybe five minutes to prepare and drink which saved me a huge amount of time.

It was really really cost-effective as well. Each serving probably cost around about £1.8. Now if I prepared a meal myself, I'll probably be spending around about a £3.5 per meal. If I didn't do my meal prep, end up having to go to the supermarket I can easily spend £6-£8 per meal. So £1.8 all of a sudden sounds you know really cheap. This product is also really kind of accessible. If you're doing a lot of travelling or you have a lot of meetings, you can quickly have a shake in between your meetings or while you're travelling.

You know that you're getting really good nutrition. You're not worried about to go into a fast-food restaurant and eating something that you shouldn't or go into some kind of deli on the corner. The shelf life for this product is actually really good as well. From the time you buy it, I think you get about a year to eat it and there's minimal waste. This packaging that it comes in this foil pack is pretty much all the packaging. There is of course as the pocket actually arrives in as well and even the scoop you actually need get one scoop.

They save on quite a lot of plastic for that and now because I'm based in the UK, I also get mixed day shipping and it's DPD which for me was a huge bonus. I love DPD as a delivery company. Now the first question I always get asked about this USN Diet Fuel is regarding the taste. Taste is of course very subjective and a little bit of negativity about the taste. My answer to it is always that it tastes fine. I've actually gone for the vanilla flavoured version of this which is a little bit sweeter and in my opinion just a little bit more kind of versatile to it as well.

Now one thing that's worth mentioning is that I'm very used to drinking protein shakes. So for me drinking this wasn't was any big deal. But if you've never really had a protein shake before you might not enjoy. I was using this twice a day. I did start to get a little bit bored with the flavour. So I started adding things to it in order to make it taste a bit more interesting. My favourite thing to add to it was actually an espresso shot which kind of made it taste like a bit of a thick latte. I used instant granules with it as well which was fine and at the weekends when I had a bit more flexibility, I will use my blender and I'd blend in berries and bananas. Read this interesting article "Ingredient That Make Meal Replacement Shakes Taste Delicious" here https://enu-nutrition.com/blog/ingredients-make-meal-replacement-shakes-taste-delicious/

The bananas didn't go so well with the vanilla flavouring but the mixed berries worked really well. Strawberries, raspberries, blueberries tasted great when I blended with it. You can buy flavour packs as well directly from USN Diet Fuel website or from Amazon UK.  I've never actually tasted them. Although this product isn't necessarily something that I would use for bodybuilding or weight loss, I did use it in the build-up to my holiday and it definitely helped contribute towards some weight loss.

I was averaging about 1.5 pounds of weight loss per week. Now in typical fashion and I tend to be the person behind the camera. So I didn't really get much footage or photographs of how I looked on holiday but of the limited footage that I did have, you can see that I still had some leanness to me. Even at the end of an all-inclusive holiday and so I definitely think it and contributed towards weight loss that now something worth mentioning. I am lucky to buy this product after reading a review on google. This website also ranked as one of the best meal replacement shakes UK brands here at https://cureline.co.uk/best-meal-replacement-shakes-uk/.

When using this product, the way in which I drink is the same way in which I drink a protein shake. I sit up and drink it as quickly as possible. So I may be drinking maybe three or four big gulps in a period of 3 to 4 five minutes and what I found was by doing that I became instantly full and I remained for about an hour after that I then became hungry again pretty quickly. Now when I was talking to a few people online about it what they recommended was to drink it relatively slowly over twenty or thirty minutes and then you get a bit more of a gradual kind of release of the food and your hunger levels I stayed off for a little bit longer.

So in terms of the negatives of using this product, well I didn't really have any issues with this product. But found that there are a few minor issues I thought I'd mentioned the first being the scoop. So this is the scoop that you get with it. Now, this is a 38-gram scoop but the serving sizes are either 100 grams or 125 grams. So what you find that you do is you have either 2.6 scoop serving or a 3.3 scoop serving both ways you're pretty awkward and didn't feel very accurate. It feels like it would have been better to have over a 25-gram scoop or 50-gram scoop and not a big deal. I appreciate the other issue is that you only get one in order to save on waste which I totally get.

But I was unaware of this the first time I was using it. So I finished my first pack through the scoop in the pack away and then when I opened up my next pack quickly realized I had no scoop and I had to rebound in the bin to find it which definitely wasn't one of my finest moments. Now when you're using these products in the shaker and I find that shake is a little bit small.

After I finished my 14 day supply I immediately ordered some more.  I got four more packs in but I haven't really used it with any consistency since what I've been doing is just having the odd shake here and there for pure convenience. I've not used it with any real kind of regularity. It's all been very sporadic I think that in the New Year I might decide to get back on it and just have my two meal replacements again during the day. I think that worked really well for me and it's just a case of mentally being ready for it and in fact that's another thing to talk about with these products is the psychology behind it.

I think that you could definitely replace all of your meals with USN Diet Fuel if you really want it to but I think that there's something very satisfying about chewing and eating that you lose when you're having this product. I mean don't get me wrong in the event of a zombie apocalypse I'd be more than happy to have this product five times a day but given the choice, I think it's good to mix kind of real food with fuel as well. If you are thinking what is the best time to take it then this guide here https://www.idealshape.com/blog/the-best-times-to-take-meal-replacement-shakes/ can help you.

So I hope you guys have found this article interesting. If you've used USN Diet Fuel before please comment below. I'd be really interested to know what your experiences were with it and if you have any questions about USN Diet Fuel again comment below and I'll try to answer them where I can. If you enjoyed this article give it like and share it with your friends in social media.





81 views0 comments
bottom of page